tva logoTennessee Valley Authority

V. Lynn Evans Sworn In as TVA Board Member

January 16, 2013

MEMPHIS, Tenn. ― V. Lynn Evans, of Memphis, Tenn., on Wednesday became a member of the Tennessee Valley Authority board, taking the oath of office in a ceremony in Memphis. Her term expires May 18, 2017.

Evans, confirmed unanimously by the U.S. Senate on Jan. 1, succeeds former board member William Graves, of Memphis, whose term expired in 2012. She was sworn in by U.S. District Judge John T. Fowlkes Jr. of the Western District of Tennessee during a ceremony at the Clifford Davis/Odell Horton Federal Building.

“I am honored the President and Senate have confidence in my abilities and look forward to serving on the board,” Evans said. “I’ve worked with TVA while on the board at Memphis Light, Gas and Water and I’m excited to continue to serve the needs of the Tennessee Valley.”

Director Evans, a native of Anguilla, Miss., lives in Memphis and is the owner of V. Lynn Evans, CPA, a certified public accounting and consulting firm established in 1983. During her service on the MLGW board of commissioners, Evans was chairman from 2008 to 2009. She has also served on the board of directors of First Alliance Bank in Memphis, Tenn., since its inception in 1998. Evans is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants, Black Business Association, and the National Association of Women Business Owners.

She has served on the board of a number of community organizations, including ArtsMemphis from 1998 to 2008, and the RISE Foundation from 1997 to 2007, where she was vice chair in 2007. Evans received a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting from Jackson State University.

Evans is one of four newly confirmed appointments for the TVA board of directors. Michael McWherter, of Jackson, Tenn., and Joe H. Ritch, of Huntsville, Ala., were sworn in last week. Peter Mahurin, of Bowling Green, Ky., was sworn in earlier Wednesday. All will join TVA Board Chairman Bill Sansom, of Knoxville, Tenn., and current members Barbara Haskew, of Chattanooga, Tenn.; Neil McBride, of Oak Ridge, Tenn., and Richard Howorth, of Oxford, Miss.

The Tennessee Valley Authority, a corporation owned by the U.S. government, provides electricity for business customers and distribution utilities that serve 9 million people in parts of seven southeastern states at prices below the national average. TVA, which receives no taxpayer money and makes no profits, also provides flood control, navigation and land management for the Tennessee River system and assists utilities and state and local governments with economic development.

Media Contact

Gail Rymer, Knoxville, 865-632-6000
TVA Public Relations, Knoxville, (865) 632-6000

Lynn Evans was sworn in as TVA’s newest board member on Jan. 16 in Memphis, Tenn. U.S. District Judge John T. Fowlkes, Jr. for the Western District of Tennessee performed the ceremony accompanied by Evans’ mother, Bettie Evans, of Anguilla, Miss.

image of swearing in

View high-res image


Lynn Evans of Memphis, Tenn., takes the oath of office during a swearing in ceremony for the TVA Board of Directors held Jan. 16 in Memphis. Evans’ mother, Bettie Evans, participated in the ceremony.

image of swearing in

View high-res image


Content for id "future1" Goes Here
Content for id "future2" Goes Here
Content for id "future3" Goes Here